Lamport Hall

Lamport Hall in Northamptonshire is a fine example of a Grade1 listed building.  It was developed from a Tudor Manor but is now notable for its classical frontage.  The hall contains an outstanding collection of books, paintings and furniture and includes the High Room with a magnificent ceiling by William Smith.  It also has a library with 16th century volumes and an early 19th century cabinet room with Neapolitan cabinets which depict mythological paintings on glass.  Lamport Hall was the home of the Isham family from 1560 to 1976.  Sir Charles Isham is credited with beginning the tradition of garden gnomes in the UK when he introduced a number of terracotta figures from Germany in the 1840s.

From about 1950 the house had considerably deteriorated and the then owner, Sir Gyles Isham, undertook major renovation works and allowed the ground floor to be opened to the public in 1974.  When he died he left the building and its contents to the Lamport Hall Preservation Trust who care for the Hall and gardens today.

The Hall is set in approximately 10 acres of tranquil gardens, the result of over 450 years of love and dedication, enclosed by a spacious park.  The gardens offer a fascinating history and a beautiful backdrop for stunning photography.  There are extensive herbaceous borders and shrubbery walks containing some rare and interesting plants providing year-round interest.  The walled garden was replanted in 2010 and is full of unusual tall perennial plants.  A vibrant array of colour and variety of plants are intersected by gravelled pathways with hidden doors and relaxing benches to be found.

Included is the cost of a light lunch and afternoon tea/coffee.

To find out more, visit the Lamport Hall website.